Take Notes ♪ ♫ – 4.7.14

Well, here goes nothing. If I can provide you with some quality tunes and help expand your musical horizon, then my job here is done. Listen and enjoy.

Hozier

Andrew Hozier-Byrne is a tall, skinny, Irishman with the voice of a god. I had the pleasure of seeing him perform at the intimate Hotel Cafe in Hollywood at the end of March and everything was utterly unbelievable. When he speaks, there’s something adorably awkward about him, and then the music starts and this booming, soulful voice flows from his mouth. It’s breathtaking. Not to mention, his lyrics are pure poetry. I’ll be seeing him again next month at The Troubadour for another sold out show.

Lo-Fang

Fangirl.
Fangirl.

Matthew Hemerlein (better known as Lo-Fang) is a classically trained musician and badass. He opened for Lorde on her tour, and I caught his sold out show at The Troubadour last week. His album, Blue Film, is filled with beautiful indie sounds that always leave me feeling absolutely hypnotized. As if his songwriting ability wasn’t enough, he plays every instrument. His demonstrated versatility at his concert was impressive – alternating instruments with ease – swinging his guitar behind his back to play the violin, while still singing gently into the microphone. It was stunning. Lucky me got to chat with him for a few after his performance and he is one chill dude.

GEMS

I’m really digging the tunes from this indie-electro-pop duo. Maybe it’s just me, but I hear some similarities to Bowie in their sound and it is groovy AF. I prefer to keep GEMS close to artists like Lo-Fang and Banks on my playlists because they all bring very spellbinding vibes.

Banks

I am so stoked to see Jillian Banks perform at Coachella this year. Her sound is like a female version of The Weeknd, whom she’s often compared to and eventually toured with, and it leaves me mesmerized. Banks is one of those artists who really draws a specific feeling from me each time I listen to her music, and I think that’s definitely a quality I appreciate.

 


 

 

If you can’t wait until next week and want to stalk me check out what I’m currently listening to, follow me on Spotify, Soundcloudand DayJam.

 


 

 

 

 4.7.2014

Leave a Reply

