Boner Jamz ’03

If the aliens in Close Encounters Of The Third Kind taught us anything, it’s that music is a universal language. Music can enhance our emotions, elicit memories, and move us in ways nothing else can. As the daughter of a pianist/ classic rock connoisseur, I was raised on some quality sounds. Not to toot my own horn or anything, but I’m often applauded on my musical taste – whether it’s been Spotify playlists, road trip soundtracks, or old school CD mixes. It’s casual.

Phantogram Psychos
Phantogram Psychos

2014 has been an extra musical year for me. After realizing that I’ve lived in Los Angeles for years and never been to a majority of the terrific concert venues here, I knew something had to change. I used to be such a rock geek in high school – frequenting local shows and Warped Tour. Oh, Warped Tour… I missed those days and I did something about it. I’ve been on a role since February. Immersing myself in music, I sought out unfamiliar artists and upcoming shows. It started on one of those spontaneous nights when 2 friends and I found ourselves scalping tickets at The Palladium for the sold out Phantogram show. From there, I popped my Troubadour cherry for an evening with Jamestown Revival and The Wild Feathers. Hozier at The Hotel Cafe. An adventure to The Wiltern for St. Vincent. I’m on a mission and I’m not stopping anytime soon. In the next 2 months, I’ll be making 3 appearances at The Troubadour for Lo-Fang, Hozier (again), and Jamestown Revival (again). Of course, Coachella is approaching fast.

Since my recent obsession to seek out new artists began, I’ve wanted to share my findings with anyone who will listen. I sent out an email to my lucky coworkers with a myriad of my new faves, and the feedback was wicked – a few crazy kids even requested it be weekly. I obviously obliged.

So here is my question: Do I incorporate my musical adventures into this sorry excuse for a blog? Would you read it? Do you think I’m an idiot? Could you not possibly care less? Well, I set up a poll for the 20 of you who actually read this regularly.

Vote away.

Jamestown Revival dorks
1926753_10202846283731466_1137468110_n
Mr. Andrew Hozier Byrne

March 28, 2014

4 thoughts on “Boner Jamz ’03

  1. Pingback: Take Notes ♪ ♫ – 4.7.14 | Sautterdays

  2. Pingback: Take Notes ♪ ♫ – 5.5.14 | Sautterdays

  3. Pingback: Take Notes ♪ ♫ – 6.4.14 | Sautterdays

Leave a Reply

