I’ll Take My New Year’s Toast With A Side Of Bacon

Happy New Year!

May our bank accounts, our beds, our hearts, and our glasses be full! And not our uteruses!

I stopped writing for a while because I was complaining too much. Mostly, I write when I’m upset. Punching those letters on the keyboard is just a great outlet. I can’t explain it, but I’m sure there are people out there who get what I’m saying. Even though I’m often bitching about something – whether it’s published for the world to see or still hiding in my drafts – I guess it’s more productive than other alternatives.

2013 is over. Good riddance. Seriously. Bye Felicia.

On a global scale, I had a pretty blessed year. #blessed *cue dry heave* I have a full time job, a roof over my head, some wonderful friends, and I get to live in one of the most exciting cities in the world. However, everyone has their struggles. To get all dramatic on ya: this year, I was tested – deeply and personally – through numerous circumstances. I don’t need to get into details, because it’s none a ya damn business but I’m pretty proud and grateful to be here and be writing this and be relatively okay with my life. When you like macaroni and pizza as much as I do, it’s hard not to get cheesy.

Maybe it’s silly to think that just because the clock strikes midnight, that new day should mean something different than any other day. What changes exactly? I mean, nothing, obviously – but you don’t have to be an asshole about it. The New Year’s symbolism for new beginnings and resolutions is just something I’m really on board with. It’s like magic. And what muggle freak doesn’t like magic? I’ve been pretty desperate for a few hard restarts. I’ve been malfunctioning.

** Turn back now if you have a sensitive gag reflex ** In 2014, I am going to be a more positive person. During life’s inevitable challenges, I am going to remember that there is something to learn from every experience. I am the only person with the power to control my happiness and my worth. I am going to think before I speak, which I know is going to be a lot harder for me than it sounds. I am going to be good to myself – no more negative thoughts, no more insecurities. I will be confident, but not arrogant. I will be kind, but not weak. I will be resilient, and not bitter. I will do my best to accept love and I won’t let past experiences hinder me from giving it. And also I’m gonna be more organized and work out more because I need to get my bod right for Coachella. 

2014 is going to be a good year. Bring the fire.

Living Fearlessly & Loving Recklessly, 

Alex

Enjoy one of my all time favorite scenes in cinematic history.

For Auld Lang Syne. And for science!

Leave a Reply

