I Was Born This Way, Baby

cootiesBesides Christmas, December holds a special place in my heart for more “nostalgic” reasons. It was this very month, 23 years ago, that I began saying my first real words at 8 months old. As my dad is always so fond of pointing out, I haven’t stopped talking since.

Now, I’m not sure how familiar you are with babies, but saying legitimate words at 8 months  is pretty early. I was a predominantly accelerated child. I must have hit my head or something.

It’s because of my premature chatterbox-ness that I believe I must have been predisposed to these ideas of “blogging” and “tweeting” and never shutting up. I WAS BORN THIS WAY. Seriously. My parents are always telling me about how they would bring me to parties as a baby/toddler/nugget, where they would just set me down and let me wander, knowing full well I would just go up to one of their random friends to begin a conversation. I’m pretty sure this was a result of over-confidence, rather than irresponsible parenting. More than once, they found crowds of adults gathered around me, just listening to everything I had to say. I was really popular… *sigh*

Why was I made like this? Is being a talker a genetic predisposition? What makes a person more likely to be a psycho extrovert like me instead of someone more introverted and boring shy? Am I just that American? Is one more desirable than the other? Is this why so many Asians seem to dislike me? But, really though.

Sometimes I wonder if I should apologize for my motormouth or if I should own it and keep on gabbing like I dgaf. Nobody wants to be that friend who allows their obnoxious habits to get the better of them, but I also don’t want to be a traitor to my personality. Mostly this is a result of not taking my medication social anxiety, so, like, I have an excuse right?

Tweet me, text me, call me, skype me, like me, love me!!!!!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

