Just Do It… Yourself

Do you like to… do it yourself?

DIY, bitchesDo It Yourself crafting has been a guilty pleasure of mine since childhood – guilty because I thought the only other people who did it were moms and obese mid-western women. I’m obviously neither. However, the addictive treasure that is Pinterest has made DIY all the rage and I am embracing it wholeheartedly.

After somehow still being single after this long making a DIY pillowcase this afternoon, it occurred to me how much of my apartment has been influenced by Pinterest and DIY crafting: the painted chevron canvases over my kitchen table, the miscellaneous frame and photo arrangement above my couch, the magnets on my refrigerator, the necklace hanger next to my vanity desk… the list is embarrassingly long. Following this bitchin’ pillowcase I made today, I think I need to admit to all of my fans and myself and my roommate (sorry Lo) that I may have a problem. Hi guys, my name is Alex, and I think I’m a celebrity am addicted to alcohol arts & crafts.

Buy my new DIY Vajazzling Kit!

Am I a 5-year-old trapped in a 23-year-old’s hot and sexy body? Why can’t I stop crafting? It’s an obsession. Like, why don’t I currently have a hot glue gun in my hand? Where are my stencils? Why haven’t you repinned every single thing I’ve pinned in this lifetime? Can I just paint, like, everything? Why am I still single? Where are the scissors? Can I make a gift basket for anybody? What do you mean that’s too much glitter? Ugh, I must create. Thank heavens I have friends as equally as obsessed with Pinterest as me or else everyone would probably be wondering why I’m not Martha Stewart a preschool teacher. I also use this as one of many terrifying phenomenal examples of why I will make an awesome stay at home mom someday. You can add that to my psycho potential future mother of your children resumé. #Linestartsherefellas

Anyway, BRB while I try to get a life look up trendy patterned fabrics for another project. I’m amazing. In the mean time, here are some of my masterpieces. Love me. Worship me. Repin me.

I like to… do it myself…

P.S. Can someone please explain to me why the fuck my must have Robert Allen Cats Cradle Papaya print is nearly $18 per yard? How am I supposed to finish my new DIY pillowcase collection when I am a peasant? I’m depressed. Buy this for me? K thanks.

Love you. Mean it.

One thought on “Just Do It… Yourself

  1. Pingback: Mistletoe Alert « Sautterdays

Leave a Reply

