Everybody Needs A Xanax

HBO has done it again. Sure, it took me a couple of episodes to get hooked – but I’m told that’s also what often happens with cocaine. The Newsroom has become my brand new and highly addictive 8-ball. Aaron Sorkin’s skills are genius, and even though I can recognize a few repetitive lines from his other works, the fast-paced dialogue is stuffed with the perfect blend of wit, drama, and intelligence. I’m obsessed.

I’m not sure why Mackenzie MacHale is so shocked that everyone thinks Will is an ass “ahss”. He is an ass – isn’t that why we like him? He’s bitter and cocky and the kind of angry man that I love to kill with kindness. McAvoy isn’t going to take bullshit from anybody and regardless of an individual’s political party, he’s going to grill them in order to make sure America gets the facts and the best leadership possible. Charlieboy was right, he is the lawyer America needs – the country’s new anti-hero. Boom. Sure, he’s certainly got some insecurity there that’s fueling the bitterness, but I love how human he is. He’s flawed. It’s beautiful. Jeff Daniels deserves an Emmy nomination, if not a win.

Who is Honey Boo Boo!?

In my opinion, McAvoy’s EP is the character who makes the show. Mackenzie MacHale is a fucking nut. She has no friends, a disastrous love life, and if anyone deserves a Xanax prescription (besides Maggie), it’s this crazy bitch. My favorite parts of the show are during her freak outs when she is screaming at either Will, her employees, or herself. Anybody really. Despite her hilariously batshit reactions to absolutely everything, MacMac possesses an adorable vulnerability that makes it impossible for me to hate her. Once again, cue the Emmy nods.

LGFU.

The rest of the all-star ensemble cast is terrific. I’ve developed an enormous girl crush on Sloan Sabbith/Olivia Munn. She’s badass and sexy and smart and it’s continuously making me question my sexuality. Did I just become bisexual? Possibly. Contrastingly, one chick I would never ever go bi for is Maggie. Vom. Despite Alison Pill’s brilliant acting, I consistently want to punch Maggie in the face. The only thing about her I can relate with is her severe anxiety – panic disorder is a bitch – but I don’t understand how her fashionista roomie hasn’t given her a majorly needed makeover yet. And I don’t understand how she has two guys that are obsessed with her. Am I missing something? Ugh, nice girls like her set off my gag reflex.

Characters I like: Sloan, Will, MacMac, Charlie (Law & Order, rep it bro), that asshole Don, Slumdog Millionaire, Jim, Jane Fonda because she’s such a bitch, Will’s bodyguard, and Bernard from The Santa Clause Will’s psychiatrist.

Characters I don’t like: Maggie, Maggie, Maggie, cockblock Reese (even though he’s sort of a babe), and Jim. I can’t decide if I like him or hate him. Can him and Maggie just do it and get it over with?

Characters I don’t really care about: So, I just realized that Tara’s alcoholic mom from HBO’s True Blood is also on Newsroom. Talk about a mindfuck. This is weird.

Will McAvoy gave me peyote and killed my demon!

Everybody on this show needs a Xanax. They’re all constantly spazzing out and speaking faster than me during finals week a sorority girl on too much adderall. Plus, a little drug usage certainly couldn’t hurt the entertainment value – remember when Slumdog Millionaire gave Will some MDMA and he has to report the Bin Laden story while rolling? Classic. However, one of my favorite aspects of the show remains how fucking insane everybody is. Everyone freaks out. Everyone screams. I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream News Night 2.0!!! 

Gather ye rosebuds while ye may.

5 thoughts on “Everybody Needs A Xanax

  1. Pingback: Syriasly. | Sautterdays

  2. Pingback: Syriasly. | Sautterdays

  3. Pingback: Happy 1 Year, Blog! | Sautterdays

Leave a Reply

